TAHU GIMBAL: THE TASTY SWEET SPICY FOOD FROM SEMARANG

Bonjour or good morning all my dear fellow wordpress readers. Hopefully, you all are good and blessed. Today, I’d like to share my unexpected moment when taste first time Semarang traditional food called tahu gimbal. At first I never heard if there is any other traditional food beside lumpia in Semarang. Of course, you’d have question what this food is and how it looks like.

Tahu gimbal is traditional local food from Semarang which is made by tofu and several ingredients such as cabbage, fried egg, cucumber, sticky rice, and gimbal with sweet spicy peanut sauce. For myself, this food looks like traditional food from my hometown, Surabaya, called “tahu tek”. What makes this one different is the using of veggie inside and gimbal itself. Gimbal is kinda snack made of shrimp and rice flour.

Where can I buy this food in Semarang and how much the price of it? That’s another good questions. This traditional food is quite easy to find. You can find it in every restaurant or street food stalls. One famous tahu gimbal sellers is located at Taman KB exactly on Jln Menteri Soepeno. Tahu Gimbal Pak Edy is the name of the street food stall. The price of tahu gimbal around IDR 15000 – IDR 20000. Quite affordable actually, isn’t it?  

The first impression on my first bite is I think I’m gonna love this food. And you know during my stay in Semarang for almost one month I’ve eaten 2 times tahu gimbal. The taste itself is like combination of salty, sweet, and spicy. If you ever tried tahu tek, the taste is similar. So if you are trying to find alternate local taste as you know central Java regions are very well-known with sweet taste, this food is recommended. Not too much expensive and gonna solve your hungry problem.

Last word is search, buy, and taste tahu gimbal. See you on my next review. Please follow my blog and gives comment.

2 thoughts on “TAHU GIMBAL: THE TASTY SWEET SPICY FOOD FROM SEMARANG

Leave a Reply

